Plan Your Visit
Parking in the North York Moors
By Jon Cosson · Updated 18 October 2026
Who runs the car parks, what they charge, how to pay, and the rules for Blue Badge holders, motorhomes and electric cars.
Charges checked 17 October 2026. Check the operator's signs and website before you pay: charges change, usually each April.
The short answer
Most car parks are pay and display, run by the National Park Authority, North Yorkshire Council or Forestry England. National Park machines take cards and the PayByPhone app, not cash, so download the app before you go because signal is patchy. Blue Badge holders pay in National Park car parks but park free in council car parks.
Who runs which car parks
| Operator | Car parks | Charges and payment | Blue Badge |
|---|---|---|---|
| National Park Authority | Cawthorn Roman Camps, Chop Gate, Danby Lodge, Goathland, Grosmont, Hole of Horcum (Saltergate), Hutton-le-Hole, Farndale Low Mill, Newton under Roseberry, Sutton Bank, Thornton-le-Dale (Maltongate) | Most £3.90 up to 2 hours, £6.20 over 2 hours. Thornton-le-Dale £3.10 up to 1 hour, £3.90 1 to 2 hours, £6.20 over 2 hours. Hutton-le-Hole £4.65 up to 3 hours, £6.20 longer. Goathland a single rate of £4.65. Coaches £7.50. Card, Apple Pay, Android Pay or PayByPhone. | Not exempt |
| North Yorkshire Council | Town and coast car parks | Pay on arrival with your registration: cash, contactless (not American Express) and RingGo, with Wave and Pay listed at some inland car parks. Coast car parks charge 9am to 6pm, at several only from 1 March to 31 October; inland towns 9am to 6.30pm daily. | Free with the badge displayed |
| Forestry England | Dalby Forest (13 car parks) and Clay Bank | Dalby: up to 1 hour £3.50, up to 2 hours £6.50, up to 3 hours £9.50, up to 4 hours £12.50, over 4 hours £15; minibus £25, coach £35. Clay Bank: £3.50 up to 2 hours, £6.00 over 2 hours. | Pay at Dalby |
| English Heritage | Rievaulx Abbey and Rievaulx Terrace | Free for English Heritage members with a car sticker, charged for others. Whitby Abbey uses the council's Abbey Headland car park, charged for everyone. | Not stated |
National Park Authority charges are normally reviewed each 1 April. An annual permit for all its car parks costs £67 (£69 online including postage); a frequent user permit for one named car park costs £31 (£33 online). Both are sold online and at Danby Lodge and Sutton Bank. Newton under Roseberry is enforced by a private contractor and has no online late payment.
At Dalby, hourly parking replaced the old Forest Drive toll from 1 February 2025. Motorhomes pay car rates, Blue Badge holders pay, the rates are the same all year, and Forestry England members park free. Pay at the Visitor Centre machines, the Sieve Dale overflow machine or the information point. Clay Bank uses number plate cameras, does not allow overnight stays, and is free only for national members.
There are no National Trust car parks in this guide's area. Robin Hood's Bay parking is run by the council and is charged for National Trust members too; Ravenscar has free roadside parking.
Car parks by area
43 of 43 car parks shown.
Southern edge
| Car park | Operator | Postcode | Charges | Toilets | EV | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pickering station (NYMR, CPS UK) | CPS UK Ltd | YO18 7AJ | £2 per hour, £7 all day (9am to 6pm daily; free outside those hours) | Unconfirmed | None listed | Separate from council and National Park car parks.Source: nymr.co.uk |
| Market Place, Malton | North Yorkshire Council | YO17 7LR | Free for up to two hours | Unconfirmed | None listed | Market Place hosts the weekly Saturday market.Source: northyorks.gov.uk |
| Ropery, Pickering | North Yorkshire Council | YO18 8DY | Up to 1hr £2.40, up to 2hrs £3.80 | Yes (accessible, RADAR key) | 2 x 75kW rapid, up to 1hr free in the charging bay | Short stay only.Source: northyorks.gov.uk |
| Eastgate, Pickering | North Yorkshire Council | YO18 7JD | 1hr £2.50, 2hrs £3.70, 3hrs £4.40, 6hrs £7.30, 24hrs £8.70 | Yes | 4 x 22kW and 4 x 75kW | Long stay, with coach bays.Source: northyorks.gov.uk |
| Vivis Lane, Pickering | North Yorkshire Council | YO18 8DL | As Eastgate: 1hr £2.50, 2hrs £3.70, 3hrs £4.40, 6hrs £7.30, 24hrs £8.70 | Unconfirmed | 4 | 58 spaces.Source: northyorks.gov.uk |
| Cawthorn Roman Camps | National Park Authority | YO18 8QQ | £3.90 up to 2 hours, £6.20 over 2 hours | No | None listed | For Cawthorn Roman Camps.Source: northyorkmoors.org.uk |
| Thornton-le-Dale (Maltongate) | National Park Authority | YO18 7SD | £3.10 up to 1hr, £3.90 1 to 2hrs, £6.20 over 2hrs, coach £7.50 | Yes, by the lake | 4 x 75kW rapid | Village centre car park. Motorhomes use the coach area; no overnight parking.Source: northyorkmoors.org.uk, northyorkmoors.org.uk |
| Cleveland Way, Helmsley | North Yorkshire Council | YO62 5AT | 1hr £2.50, 2hrs £3.70, 3hrs £4.40, 6hrs £7.30, 24hrs £8.70, plus coach rates | Yes | 4 x 22kW and 4 x 75kW | Long stay, and the start of the Cleveland Way.Source: northyorks.gov.uk |
| Market Place, Helmsley | North Yorkshire Council | YO62 5BL | Up to 1hr £2.50, up to 2hrs £3.80; 20 minutes free in marked bays | Nearby at Borogate | None listed | Short stay.Source: northyorks.gov.uk |
| Rievaulx Abbey | English Heritage | YO62 5LB | Charged for non-members (amount not published); free for English Heritage members with a car sticker | Yes | None listed | Overflow parking in the hamlet on some summer days.Source: english-heritage.org.uk |
| Hutton-le-Hole (Moor Lane) | National Park Authority | YO62 6UB | £4.65 up to 3hrs, £6.20 longer | Yes (RADAR key) | 6 x 7kW | Village car park for the Folk Museum. Motorhomes to the left of the entrance or in the top car park; no overnight parking.Source: northyorkmoors.org.uk, northyorkmoors.org.uk |
| Town Farm, Kirkbymoorside | North Yorkshire Council | YO62 6AT | As Eastgate: 1hr £2.50, 2hrs £3.70, 3hrs £4.40, 6hrs £7.30, 24hrs £8.70; 1 hour free 12pm to 2pm with a free time ticket | Yes | 4 | Town centre car park.Source: northyorks.gov.uk |
| Dalby Forest Visitor Centre and 12 forest car parks | Forestry England | YO18 7LT | Up to 1hr £3.50, up to 2hrs £6.50, up to 3hrs £9.50, up to 4hrs £12.50, over 4hrs £15; minibus £25, coach £35 | Yes | None listed | Hourly charges replaced the Forest Drive toll. Rates are per Forestry England's current Dalby Forest page. Motorcycles park free. Pay at the Visitor Centre machines, the Sieve Dale overflow machine or the information point. Motorhomes pay car rates.Source: forestryengland.uk, forestryengland.uk |
Central moors
| Car park | Operator | Postcode | Charges | Toilets | EV | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Levisham station (NYMR, CPS UK) | CPS UK Ltd | YO18 7NN | £2 per hour, £5 all day (9am to 6pm daily; free outside those hours) | Unconfirmed | None listed | Separate from council and National Park car parks.Source: nymr.co.uk |
| Goathland station (NYMR, CPS UK) | CPS UK Ltd | YO22 5NF | £2 per hour, £5 all day (9am to 6pm daily; free outside those hours) | Unconfirmed | None listed | Separate from council and National Park car parks.Source: nymr.co.uk |
| Grosmont station (NYMR, CPS UK) | CPS UK Ltd | YO22 5QE | £2 per hour, £6 all day (9am to 6pm daily; free outside those hours) | Unconfirmed | None listed | Separate from council and National Park car parks.Source: nymr.co.uk |
| Hole of Horcum (Saltergate) | National Park Authority | YO18 7NS | £3.90 up to 2 hours, £6.20 over 2 hours, coach £7.50 | 2 accessible portable toilets | None listed | Coastliner 840 bus stop. Motorhomes where space allows; no overnight parking.Source: northyorkmoors.org.uk, northyorkmoors.org.uk |
| Goathland (Beck Hole Road) | National Park Authority | YO22 5LX | £4.65 single rate | Yes (RADAR key) | None listed | Village car park. Limited motorhome space; no overnight parking.Source: northyorkmoors.org.uk |
| Grosmont (Front Street) | National Park Authority | YO22 5QE | £3.90 up to 2 hours, £6.20 over 2 hours | Council toilets nearby | None listed | Handy for the railway. Motorhomes in the coach bays if free; no overnight parking.Source: northyorkmoors.org.uk, northyorkmoors.org.uk |
| Low Mill, Farndale | National Park Authority | YO62 7UY | Donation box | Yes | None listed | Severely restricted in daffodil season.Source: northyorkmoors.org.uk |
| Danby Lodge National Park Centre | National Park Authority | YO21 2NB | £3.90 up to 2 hours, £6.20 over 2 hours | Yes, 10am to 5pm | 8 | Car park for the National Park Centre. Motorhomes use the coach area at weekends and in school holidays.Source: northyorkmoors.org.uk |
| Blakey Ridge | Not stated | Not published | Free | Unconfirmed | None listed | Large free car park beside the Lion Inn (local knowledge, October 2026). |
Coast
| Car park | Operator | Postcode | Charges | Toilets | EV | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Whitby Park and Ride | North Yorkshire Council with Arriva buses | YO21 1TL | Parking free for bus users; bus day ticket £3 adult, £2 young person or concession, £5.50 family | Unconfirmed | None listed | About 450 spaces at the A171 and B1460 junction. Motorhomes during opening hours; no caravans and no overnight parking.Source: northyorks.gov.uk |
| West Cliff, Whitby | North Yorkshire Council | YO21 3EG | 1hr £3.20, 2hrs £4.90, 6hrs £10.20, 24hrs £13.10 (9am to 6pm, 1 March to 31 October) | Unconfirmed | 10 | 439 spaces. Motor caravans may not wait 11pm to 7am.Source: northyorks.gov.uk |
| Pavilion Top, Whitby | North Yorkshire Council | YO21 3EN | As West Cliff: 1hr £3.20, 2hrs £4.90, 6hrs £10.20, 24hrs £13.10 (9am to 6pm, 1 March to 31 October) | Unconfirmed | None listed | 63 spaces. Motor caravans may not wait 11pm to 7am.Source: northyorks.gov.uk |
| Marina Front, Whitby | North Yorkshire Council | YO21 1YN | 1hr £3.20, 2hrs £4.90, 4hrs £8.10, 6hrs £10.20, 24hrs £13.10 | Unconfirmed | None listed | 96 spaces; larger vehicles pay for each bay. Motor caravans may not wait 11pm to 7am.Source: northyorks.gov.uk |
| Marina Back, Whitby | North Yorkshire Council | YO21 1YN | 2hrs minimum £4.90, 4hrs £8.10, 6hrs £10.20, 24hrs £13.10 | Unconfirmed | None listed | 358 spaces. Motor caravans may not wait 11pm to 7am.Source: northyorks.gov.uk |
| Endeavour Wharf, Whitby | North Yorkshire Council | YO21 1YW | As Marina Back: 2hrs minimum £4.90, 4hrs £8.10, 6hrs £10.20, 24hrs £13.10 | Unconfirmed | None listed | 250 spaces near the station. Motor caravans may not wait 11pm to 7am.Source: northyorks.gov.uk |
| Church Street, Whitby | North Yorkshire Council | YO22 4AS | 1hr £3.20, 3hrs £6.40, 6hrs £10.20, 24hrs £13.10 | Unconfirmed | 4 | East side, for the 199 steps. Motor caravans may not wait 11pm to 7am.Source: northyorks.gov.uk |
| Abbey Headland, Whitby | North Yorkshire Council | YO22 4JT | As West Cliff: 1hr £3.20, 2hrs £4.90, 6hrs £10.20, 24hrs £13.10 (9am to 6pm, 1 March to 31 October) | Unconfirmed | None listed | About 100m from the abbey; charged for English Heritage members too.Source: northyorks.gov.uk |
| Sandsend (Lythe Bank) | North Yorkshire Council | YO21 3TG | 1hr £3.20, 2hrs £4.90, 4hrs £6.40, 6hrs £7.30, 24hrs £8.70 (1 March to 31 October; free outside the season) | Yes | None listed | 98 spaces.Source: northyorks.gov.uk |
| Bank Top, Robin Hood's Bay | North Yorkshire Council | YO22 4RL | As Sandsend: 1hr £3.20, 2hrs £4.90, 4hrs £6.40, 6hrs £7.30, 24hrs £8.70 (1 March to 31 October; free outside the season) | Unconfirmed | 4 | 60 spaces.Source: northyorks.gov.uk |
| Station, Robin Hood's Bay | North Yorkshire Council | YO22 4RE | As Sandsend: 1hr £3.20, 2hrs £4.90, 4hrs £6.40, 6hrs £7.30, 24hrs £8.70 (1 March to 31 October; free outside the season) | Yes | None listed | 212 spaces, the main car park.Source: northyorks.gov.uk |
| Ravenscar | Roadside | Not published | Free | Public toilets across the road from the National Trust visitor centre | None listed | No beach access after cliff falls. The visitor centre has a second-hand bookshop; its cafe has closed.Source: nationaltrust.org.uk |
| Bank Top, Staithes | North Yorkshire Council | TS13 5AD | As Sandsend: 1hr £3.20, 2hrs £4.90, 4hrs £6.40, 6hrs £7.30, 24hrs £8.70 (1 March to 31 October; free outside the season) | Yes | 4 | Steep walk down; a separate private camera-enforced car park is next door.Source: northyorks.gov.uk |
| Bank Top, Runswick Bay | North Yorkshire Council | TS13 5JF | 1hr £2.90, 2hrs £4.40, 4hrs £5.80, 6hrs £6.60, 24hrs £7.90 | Unconfirmed | 4 | 100 spaces.Source: northyorks.gov.uk |
| Bank Bottom, Runswick Bay | North Yorkshire Council | TS13 5HT | As Bank Top: 1hr £2.90, 2hrs £4.40, 4hrs £5.80, 6hrs £6.60, 24hrs £7.90 (1 March to 31 October) | Yes | None listed | 80 spaces at beach level.Source: northyorks.gov.uk |
Western
| Car park | Operator | Postcode | Charges | Toilets | EV | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sutton Bank National Park Centre | National Park Authority | YO7 2EH | £3.90 up to 2 hours, £6.20 over 2 hours | Yes, 10am to 5pm, including Changing Places | 6 x 7kW | Car park for the National Park Centre.Source: northyorkmoors.org.uk, northyorkmoors.org.uk |
| Cod Beck Reservoir, Osmotherley | Yorkshire Water | DL6 3AL | Unconfirmed | Village toilets by the village hall | None listed | Very limited; a clearway is enforced at Sheepwash.Source: northyorkmoors.org.uk |
| Newton under Roseberry (Roseberry Topping) | National Park Authority, privately enforced | TS9 6QS | £3.90 up to 2 hours, £6.20 over 2 hours | Yes | 6 x 7kW | For Roseberry Topping.Source: northyorkmoors.org.uk |
| High Green, Great Ayton | North Yorkshire Council | TS9 6BJ | Free long stay | Unconfirmed | None listed | 23 spaces.Source: northyorks.gov.uk |
| Clay Bank (B1257) | Forestry England | TS9 7HX | £3.50 up to 2hrs, £6.00 over 2hrs | Unconfirmed | None listed | Forestry England car park on the B1257. Overnight stays not allowed.Source: forestryengland.uk |
| Chop Gate | National Park Authority | TS9 7JW | £3.90 up to 2 hours, £6.20 over 2 hours | Yes | None listed | Village car park.Source: northyorkmoors.org.uk |
Motorhomes and campervans
The National Park Authority says overnight parking is not allowed in its car parks. There are no designated motorhome bays, so park only where space allows and pay for the space you use; its motorhome and horsebox page gives advice for each car park. The Authority also sells an overnight ticket for an unoccupied vehicle, £7.20 for 24 hours or £9.25 for 48 hours. It is for leaving a vehicle, not sleeping in it; check with the Authority which car parks it covers.
In Whitby, motor caravans may not wait between 11pm and 7am at West Cliff, Pavilion Top, Marina Front, Marina Back, Endeavour Wharf and Church Street, and sleeping, camping and cooking are not allowed at council car parks. Whitby Park and Ride allows motorhomes during opening hours, but not caravans and not overnight. For roads and coastal orders, see caravans and motorhomes.
EV charging at visitor car parks
| Car park | Chargers |
|---|---|
| Danby Lodge | 8 chargers |
| Hutton-le-Hole | 6 x 7kW |
| Newton under Roseberry | 6 x 7kW |
| Sutton Bank | 6 x 7kW |
| Thornton-le-Dale | 4 x 75kW rapid |
| Helmsley Cleveland Way | 4 x 22kW and 4 x 75kW |
| Pickering Eastgate | 4 x 22kW and 4 x 75kW |
| Pickering Ropery | 2 x 75kW |
| Pickering Vivis Lane | 4 |
| Kirkbymoorside Town Farm | 4 |
| Whitby West Cliff | 10 |
| Whitby Church Street | 4 |
| Robin Hood's Bay Bank Top | 4 |
| Staithes Bank Top | 4 |
| Runswick Bay Bank Top | 4 |
Parking charges usually apply on top of charging, except at the rapid chargers at Eastgate and Cleveland Way, where up to an hour's charging carries no parking fee.
Whitby Park and Ride
About 450 spaces at the A171 and B1460 junction, postcode YO21 1TL. Parking is free for bus users; a bus day ticket is £3 adult, £2 young person or concession, or £5.50 family. The 2026 season runs 29 March to 1 November 2026. The car park is locked 15 minutes after the last bus (4.30pm in October). See North Yorkshire Council's Park and Ride page.
Places with little or no parking
- Robin Hood's Bay old village and Staithes: no vehicle access, and a steep walk from the bank-top car parks.
- Runswick Bay lower village: Bank Bottom car park, 80 spaces.
- Osmotherley: Cod Beck parking is very limited, and a two-mile clearway is enforced at Sheepwash.
- Roseberry Topping: the A173 has double yellow lines and a residents' zone, and Redcar and Cleveland Council reports illegal parking at weekends.
- Farndale in daffodil season: Low Mill is severely restricted, and a private charged field car park opens.
- Rosedale: parking at Bank Top.
Blakey Ridge has a large free car park beside the Lion Inn (local knowledge, October 2026).
Parking FAQs
- How much is parking in the North York Moors?
- Most National Park Authority car parks charge £3.90 up to 2 hours and £6.20 over 2 hours. Thornton-le-Dale is £3.10 up to 1 hour, Hutton-le-Hole £4.65 up to 3 hours and Goathland a single rate of £4.65. North Yorkshire Council town and coast car parks have their own tariffs, and Dalby Forest charges by the hour from £3.50. Charges are normally reviewed each April.
- Can I pay cash in National Park car parks?
- No. National Park Authority machines take card, Apple Pay and Android Pay, or you can pay with the PayByPhone app. Download the app before you go, because mobile signal is patchy. North Yorkshire Council car parks do take cash, as well as contactless (not American Express) and RingGo.
- Do Blue Badge holders park free?
- In North Yorkshire Council car parks, yes, with the badge displayed. In National Park Authority car parks and Forestry England's Dalby Forest, Blue Badge holders pay the normal charge.
- Can I sleep in my motorhome in a car park?
- No. The National Park Authority does not allow overnight parking in its car parks, and North Yorkshire Council does not allow sleeping, camping or cooking in its car parks. In Whitby, motor caravans may not wait between 11pm and 7am at West Cliff, Pavilion Top, Marina Front, Marina Back, Endeavour Wharf and Church Street.
- Is Dalby Forest parking still a toll?
- No. Forestry England replaced the old Forest Drive toll with hourly parking charges from 1 February 2025: up to 1 hour £3.50, up to 2 hours £6.50, up to 3 hours £9.50, up to 4 hours £12.50, over 4 hours £15; minibus £25, coach £35. Blue Badge holders pay, and Forestry England members park free.
- Where can I charge an electric car?
- Chargers are listed at Danby Lodge, Hutton-le-Hole, Newton under Roseberry, Sutton Bank, Thornton-le-Dale, Helmsley Cleveland Way, Pickering Eastgate, Ropery and Vivis Lane, Kirkbymoorside Town Farm, Whitby West Cliff and Church Street, and the bank-top car parks at Robin Hood's Bay, Staithes and Runswick Bay. Parking charges usually apply on top.
Sources checked 17 October 2026: National Park car parks and toilets; National Park car park list; terms and conditions; permits; motorhome and horsebox parking; North Yorkshire Council car park directory; Whitby Park and Ride; Dalby hourly charges; Dalby access; Clay Bank. Planning a day out? Try Plan My Day.
Where to stay in the North York Moors
Self-catering cottages, village inns and farmhouse boltholes right across the moors, from the southern villages to the coast.
Browse places to stay